

At a meeting of the LEICESTER CITY COUNCIL held at the Town Hall at FIVE O'CLOCK in the afternoon on Thursday, 9 MARCH 2023 duly convened for the business hereunder mentioned.

# BUSINESS

==================

=============

# 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

# 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

## 3. NOTICE OF MOTION

To consider the following motion submitted by Councillor Nangreave

"To remove the Elected Mayoral model and replace it with a Committee system of governance."

## 4. ANY OTHER URGENT BUSINESS

#### PRESENT:

GEORGE COLE, LORD MAYOR CHAIRMAN

# SIR PETER SOULSBY - CITY MAYOR

Abbey Ward

ANNETTE BYRNE MANJIT KAUR SAINI VIJAY SINGH RIYAIT

Aylestone Ward

ADAM CLARKE NIGEL CARL PORTER

Beaumont Leys Ward

HEMANT RAE BHATIA VI DEMPSTER PAUL THOMAS WESTLEY

Belgrave Ward

PADMINI CHAMUND NITA SOLANKI MAHENDRA VALAND

Braunstone Park and Rowley Fields

SUE BARTON ELAINE HALFORD KULWINDER SINGH JOHAL

Castle Ward

PATRICK JOSEPH KITTERICK DANNY MYERS DEBORAH ANNE SANGSTER

Evington Ward

DEEPAK BAJAJ SUE HUNTER SHAHID KHAN

Eyres Monsell Ward

ELAINE PANTLING KAREN PICKERING North Evington Ward

LUIS FONSECA RASHMIKANT JOSHI

Rushey Mead Ward

PIARA SINGH CLAIR RITA PATEL ROSS WILLMOTT

Saffron Ward

ELLY CUTKELVIN

Spinney Hills Ward

MISBAH BATOOL MUSTAFA MALIK

Stoneygate Ward

KIRK MASTER SHARMEN RAHMAN AMINUR THALUKDAR

Thurncourt Ward

TERESA ALDRED STEPHAN GEE

Troon Ward

DIANE CANK

Westcotes Ward

JACKY NANGREAVE SARAH RUSSELL Fosse Ward

TED CASSIDY SUE WADDINGTON

Humberstone and Hamilton Ward

RUMA ALI DANIEL CREWE GURINDER SINGH SANDHU

Knighton Ward

MELLISA MARCH DR LYNN MOORE GEOFF WHITTLE Western Ward

# GARY O'DONNELL

Wycliffe Ward

HANIF AQBANY MOHAMMED DAWOOD

## 78. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor welcomed those present to the meeting.

#### Film crew and guests

The Lord Mayor noted that there were a number of media representatives who were filming the meeting and reporting on it, as well as some guests of the Lord Mayor. He welcomed them to the meeting but asked that they allow the Council to undertake its business without influence or interruption.

## 79. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Lord Mayor invited Members to declare any interests they might have in the business on the agenda not already declared in their register of interests.

There were no relevant declarations.

## 80. NOTICE OF MOTION

The Lord Mayor introduced the item, noting that it was an important night for local democracy and he asked that Members recognise the gravity of the meeting and behave accordingly. He noted that the procedures may become complex and he asked Members follow them correctly and he would guide the meeting as necessary. He also asked that the proceedings be conducted in a respectful manner focussing on considerations of governance models rather than personal matters.

Moved by Councillor Nangreave, seconded by Councillor Patel:

To remove the Elected Mayoral model and replace it with a Committee system of governance.

#### AMENDMENT

Moved by Councillor Kitterick, seconded by Councillor Willmott:

"That having duly considered the thousands of requests of the people in the city to change Leicester City Council's system of governance and with due regard to the alternate models of governance that are available –

 approval be given to change the Council's model of governance to the committee system of governance as provided for in section 9B and Part 1A Chapter 3 of the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended);

The committees to be established under such a system as follows

There will be 8 policy committees each consisting of at least 10 members of the council, which will align with how council teams and budgets work, and with our strategic aims. The committee membership will be reflective of the political composition of the elected councillors in line with available guidance. They are:

- 1. Strategy and Resources Policy Committee
- 2. Adult Health and Social Care Policy Committee

- 3. Communities, Parks and Leisure Policy Committee
- 4. Economic Development and Skills Policy Committee
- 5. Education, Children and Families Policy Committee
- 6. Housing Policy Committee
- 7. Transport, Regeneration and Climate Policy Committee
- 8. Waste and Street Scene Policy Committee
- delegated authority be given to the City Barrister to undertake all steps required to give effect to this decision under the Local Government Act 2000 as amended; and
- (iii) a report from the City Barrister be submitted to the next Full Council meeting on the implementation of the decision"

Following the debate, the Lord Mayor put the amendment to a vote.

Under Council Procedure Rule 29 of the Council's Constitution, three Councillors requested a recorded vote.

#### For the amendment:

Councillors Bajaj, Chamund, Crewe, Joshi, Khan, Kitterick, Master, Modhwadia, Nangreave, O'Donnell, Patel, Pickering, Porter, Rahman, Rae Bhatia, Sangster, Solanki, Thalukdar, Valand, Westley and Willmott

#### Against the amendment:

Councillors Aldred, Ali, Aqbany, Barton, Batool, Byrne, Cank, Cassidy, Clair, Clarke, Cole, Cutkelvin, Dawood, Dempster, Fonseca, Gee, Halford, Hunter, Malik, March, Moore, Myers, Pantling, Pickering, Riyait, Russell, Kaur Saini, Singh Johal, Singh Sandhu, Soulsby (City Mayor), Waddington and Whittle.

The Lord Mayor declared that the amendment was lost.

Under Council Procedure Rule 26 (a) (iii) of the Councils Constitution, the City Mayor moved, seconded by Councillor Clair that the question now be put, in relation to the original motion, which would cause the original motion to be voted on without further debate.

The Lord Mayor put the motion, that the question now be put to a vote.

Under Council Procedure Rule 29 of the Council's Constitution, three Councillors requested a recorded vote.

#### For the motion:

Councillors Aldred, Ali, Aqbany, Barton, Batool, Byrne, Cank, Cassidy, Clair, Clarke, Cole, Cutkelvin, Dawood, Dempster, Fonseca, Gee, Halford, Hunter, Malik, March, Moore, Myers, Pantling, Pickering, Riyait, Russell, Kaur Saini, Singh Johal, Singh Sandhu, Soulsby (City Mayor), and Whittle.

#### Against the motion:

Councillors Bajaj, Chamund, Crewe, Joshi, Khan, Kitterick, Master, Modhwadia, Nangreave, O'Donnell, Patel, Pickering, Porter, Rahman, Sangster, Solanki, Thalukdar, Valand, and Willmott

Abstaining from the motion: Councillors Rae Bhatia and Westley The Lord Mayor declared the motion carried.

The Lord Mayor put the original motion to a vote.

Under Council Procedure Rule 29 of the Council's Constitution, three Councillors requested a recorded vote.

For the motion:

Councillors Bajaj, Crewe, Kitterick, Master, Modhwadia, Nangreave, O'Donnell, Patel, Porter, Rahman, Sangster, Thalukdar and Willmott.

Against the motion:

Councillors Aldred, Ali, Aqbany, Barton, Batool, Byrne, Cank, Cassidy, Clair, Clarke, Cole, Cutkelvin, Dawood, Dempster, Fonseca, Gee, Halford, Hunter, Malik, March, Moore, Myers, Pantling, Pickering, Riyait, Russell, Kaur Saini, Singh Johal, Singh Sandhu, Soulsby (City Mayor), and Whittle.

Abstaining from the motion: Councillors Chamund, Joshi, Khan, Rae Bhatia, Solanki, Valand, and Westley.

The Lord Mayor declared that the motion was lost.

## 81. ANY OTHER URGENT BUSINESS

There being no other business, the Lord Mayor declared the meeting closed at 7.35pm.